If you’re one of the many people looking for a gluten-free alcoholic beverage, you may wonder if Baileys is gluten-free. The answer is a bit complicated, but we will try to break it down for you in this blog post.
Baileys is a popular Irish cream liqueur often used in classic drinks like Irish coffee. It is naturally gluten-free, but it’s important to look at the rest of this whiskey to determine if it’s safe for those that have to follow a gluten-free lifestyle.
Baileys Irish Cream Ingredients
Before discovering whether this delicious drink with heavy cream is one of the gluten-free alcoholic options, it’s a good idea to look at what is in it.
Of course, Irish cream is one of the main ingredients. Whiskey and cocoa are also stapled components in Baileys Original Irish Cream.
Baileys Irish Cream has expanded to include a vegan option made with almond milk with a lower alcohol content than the original version. There is a low-calorie variant as well, with lower alcohol content. Various flavors, like strawberry cream, are also readily available.
Unfortunately, the ingredient list stops there. The official recipe for this dinner drink is a closely guarded secret. In addition, so many flavors are available, and every single one has different additives.
Is Irish Whiskey Gluten-Free?
According to the company, Baileys is made with whiskey, which is often considered gluten-free. Although alcoholic beverages are made with gluten-containing grain, distillation removes them to make drinks like Baileys Original Irish Cream free of gluten.
This process is recognized by the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Trade Bureau, which regulates alcoholic beverages. They have stated that the distillation process these products go through can remove the gluten from the product, so it’s likely that Baileys is gluten-free.
Is Baileys Irish Cream Whiskey Safe for People With Celiac Disease?
While this delicious drink is likely to be gluten-free, it doesn’t have the certificate required for a gluten-free label.
That means that it has never been tested to ensure that it contains a low enough amount of gluten to be considered safe for people with conditions like Celiac disease.
It could also be processed in facilities with gluten-containing products, leading to trace elements of gluten in Baileys Irish Cream Whiskey.
How to Make Gluten-Free Irish Cream Whiskey At Home
While Baileys Irish Cream Whiskey isn’t recommended for people who have to live a gluten-free lifestyle, that doesn’t mean you’re out of luck. With a few basic ingredients, anyone can make this delicious drink and trust that it doesn’t have gluten.
You can adjust the ingredient levels to suit your needs, but we recommend this recipe for a delicious homemade Irish cream whiskey:
Simply pour the ingredients into a mixer and blend on a low speed. Enjoy your drink as soon as the ingredients are combined, which should only take 20-30 seconds! You can also check out Gluten Free Palate for delicious recipes to pair with your Irish cream whiskey.
Irish Cream Whiskey Recipe Variations
A few variations can be used to make this into a customized recipe that everyone will love.
For instance, you can use almond milk instead of heavy cream for people with lactose intolerance. However, it’s important to note that almond milk is notorious for being thinner than cow’s milk. Make sure to pick up some arrowroot powder as a thickener for the almond milk.
You can also put coconut cream and ice cream to give the drink a unique flavor. Or a few extra tablespoons of anything with chocolate flavor, from a little bit of cocoa to some milk chocolate. Add an extra kick to the drink with coffee grounds or instant cappuccino mix.
The only thing to remember is that it’s critical to double-check all ingredients to ensure they are gluten-free. This is especially important when choosing flavoring or additives for your alcoholic drinks. Often, wheat is used as a preservative in shelf-stable ingredients, so be careful.
Other Gluten-Free Drinks Safe for Those With Celiac Disease
Homemade drinks are nice, but sometimes it’s even better to pick up a trustworthy gluten-free alcoholic beverage ready to consume.
Wine is naturally made from fruit, which is gluten-free. This includes other drinks, such as brandy made from distilled wine. However, this rule only applies to natural wines. Once companies add flavoring, it’s extremely important to check the ingredient list, as many of them include gluten.
ALT Brew Beer
This beer brand specializes in crafting a delicious brew not made using wheat, rye, or barley. They pride themselves on offering a beer that tastes delicious and is completely gluten-free.
People who love good vodka and have to go gluten-free are encouraged to try Ciroc! Their original flavored vodka is definitely gluten-free.
Some of their flavored vodkas and limited edition bottles may contain gluten, but the website is transparent regarding which flavors are gluten-free, which is always appreciated.
Hudson Baby Bourbon
While most whiskey is considered gluten-free, there is a chance of cross-contamination or the distillation process isn’t performed correctly and, therefore, won’t remove all of the gluten.
You won’t have to worry about that with Hudson Baby Bourbon whiskey because it’s made from corn.
S.S. Sorghum Whiskey
Sorghum is an ancient grain that originated in Africa. Now, it’s grown worldwide and used in various foods and drinks, including whiskey.
S.S. Sorghum is made from 100% sorghum, so those with celiac disease don’t have to worry about consuming a whiskey that has wheat on the label.
So, is Baileys gluten-free? The answer is yes and no. While the main ingredients in Baileys are gluten-free, there may be some cross-contamination if made in a factory that also processes wheat products.
If you have Celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it’s best to steer clear of this popular Irish cream liqueur. For most people, it’s a safe choice to enjoy during special occasions or when you feel like treating yourself.
And with so many variations of the classic Irish cream recipe, it’s easy to find one that fits your dietary needs. Have you tried Baileys with almond milk or coconut cream? What did you think? Leave us a comment below!